St. Peter’s College – Tennis

The history of Tennis at St. Peter’s began in February 1929 with the opening of Tennis Courts and the formation of a Tennis Club. However, the current tennis programme at St Peter’s College was started on the 10th of January 1998. It was done under the patronage of the then Rector, Rev. Fr. Felician R Perera on the instigation of some of the parents who wanted the game of tennis started at College. It was initially started with 11 players and has now grown to accommodate more than 150 players playing the game each year.

The present tennis court complex was built in the year 2000 and was expanded to include the present hard courts and lighting in the year 2012/13.

Mission Statement

  • To get the young Peterites playing the game of tennis to achieve their maximum potential thereby bringing glory to College through the sport.
  • To use the game of tennis as a vehicle for the young Peterites to achieve overseas scholarships as well as local opportunities for their higher education.
  • To produce productive, disciplined, driven and committed individuals who can contribute to the society in general.

Teachers and masters in charge
Mr Crescent Jayawardena was the first master in charge and was replaced by Mr Bernard Jesuthasan around April 1998. He held the post until 1st  December 2020. He was assisted by Miss Marina Jansen and Mrs Sherine Perera for a short period of time.

Mr K D Y Pathiraja has been the head coach at St Peter’s College since 10th  January 1998 to date. He has been assisted by various assistant coaches from time to time.

Special mention must be made of Mr P Thizant who worked in the college tennis programme for 14 years and also Mr M T Rizmi who has been working for the last 12 years to date.

Noteworthy Performances
While there are many noteworthy performances in the last 22+ years the following below must be made special mention of:

Team Performances

  • Has won the All Island overall Inter School tennis championship 9 out of 11 years from 2005 to 2015
  • Won all three age groups which were played in the All Island Inter school tennis championship in 2015, namely the Under 15, 17 and 19 age groups. (Only school to achieve that feat so far)
  • Has managed to produce Sri Lanka players every year from 2003 to 2018 (16 consecutive years).
  • It is a record which is unmatched in the history of any sport.

Individual Performances

  • T Dineshkanthan became the No 1 player in the Asia/Oceania Zone 2 in the Under 14 age group in 2005
  • Chehan Fernando became the No 3 player in the Asia/Oceania Zone 2 in the Under 14 age group in 2011
  • Nishangan Nadaraja became one of the youngest players in the world in the history of the game to play for the Senior Men’s team of any country when he played Davis Cup in 2011 at the age of 15 years.
  •   T Dineshkanthan won a bronze medal at the SAF games in 2016.
  •   Nishangan Nadaraja was awarded a 100% tennis scholarship in 2016 to the University of Alabama in the US and is completing his Masters Degree there at the moment.
Share This Story!