St. Peter’s College were crowned champions of the SLSCA U19 Division 1 – Tier ‘B’ Limited Over Cricket Tournament, as they beat Thurstan College by 3 wickets in the final worked off today (19th April) at Police Park Grounds, Colombo.

Due to the prevailing weather conditions, the match was reduced to a 26-over affair. After been put into bat first, Thurstan College managed to post 131 runs in the allotted 26 overs.

The Skipper Bawantha Jayasinghe was the top-scorer for Thurstan College as he smashed 53 runs off 42 balls, with 2 fours and 4 sixes at 126.19.

Abilash Dinakara Wellalage (3/19) and Shenon Rodrigo (2/16) starred with the ball for St. Peter’s College, sharing 5 wickets between them.

Chasing 132 runs to win, St. Peter’s College faced an early hiccup losing first 3 wickets for 10 runs inside the first 3 overs. However, they managed to rescue their innings thanks to the match-winning knocks played by Lahiru Dawatage (43) and Danal Hemananda (36*) and crossed over the line with 3 wickets in hand.